AS Bakshi appointed CEA as chairperson

The government has appointed Arvinder Singh Bakshi as the full time Chairperson of the Central Electricity Authority.

Bakshi has been serving as interim chairperson of CEA, the nodal advisory body for the power sector, since July 1.

In a letter dated October 14, the Power Ministry said Bakshi has been appointed as CEA Chairperson and would have the ex-officio status of the Secretary.

The post of CEA chief fell vacant after the retirement of Gurdial Singh on June 30.

The appointment of Bakshi would be "for a period of five years from the date of taking over charge of the post or till his superannuation or until further orders whichever is the earliest," according to the letter.

Sources said that Bakshi would be at the helm of CEA for little less than two years, since he would be retiring on July 31, 2013. Prior to this appointment, Bakshi was serving as Member (Planning) at CEA. At the top level, CEA has six members besides the chairperson. The members are entrusted with various responsibilities, including those related to take care of various areas including planning, hydro, thermal, grid operation and distribution and power system.

  Similar Posts

Share it